Sunday, September 19, 2010

DO YOUR FEET STINK?!

    Today, I heard something so profound...actually, maybe it wasn't even so profound as just resonated with me. Although I have heard this Bible story many times, today it had a whole new meaning. For those of my readers who aren't Christian or even read the Bible, I'll re-tell the story in plain text that comes from the Gospel of Luke in the 7th chapter:


    Basically, a religious leader (known as a pharisee) invited Jesus and his disciples over for dinner. When they arrived the Bible says they 'reclined' at the table. They didn't sit up in chairs as they do now, because their feet were often so dirty. They would lean on table on their left side, with their feet away from the table, using their right hand to eat.

   A woman,who had a very bad reputation in the town, heard that Jesus was eating nearby and went to the house. That's right...she just showed up. Awkward? Most definitely. She then began crying...like, really crying and she leaned down to let her tears fall on Jesus' feet. Let me first say can you imagine if you had been ridiculed and your WHOLE town thought you were sinful and terrible, and  you just showed up where a gathering of HOLY men were thinking you could find forgiveness? This woman certainly had guts.

    After crying on his feet literally, as I'm sure everyone watched awkwardly in astonishment, she began drying his (probably filthy) feet with her hair. She kissed his feet and then poured her perfume on them. Now back in those days, women carried a flask of perfume with them, normally rose oil, because they did not have access to showers like we do now and they used it to sweeten their breath and body.

    But, why would she have just shown up in front of Jesus,whom she had never met?? He obviously had an impact on her life and as she entered and saw him she was overcome by thank fullness. There would be no other reason for it, but that. She knew HE could save her and it most certainly would NOT have been easy for her to do this. She had NO reason to think that they would be accepting of her; she was known for her bad reputation!!

      Finally the religious leader had the unction to break the awkward silence and say something about Jesus:"If Jesus was legit, he would know that this lady has a TERRIBLE REPUTATION! She's known for the bad crimes she has committed around here!"
    Jesus looked right at him and said, "I've got something to tell you..There were two guys who owed a bank owner some money. One owed him 5 million bucks and the other owed him 5 bucks. Neither of these guys could pay him back so he let them both off of the hook. Which guy do you think would be more thankful?Which guys is going to love him more?

   The religious leader looked at Jesus and said, "The one who owed more money of course."

Jesus told him he was right. Then Jesus looked down at the woman who probably felt embarrassed she even made the decision to go there and said, "When I got here you didn't offer to clean my feet, but she has cleaned them with her own tears and her hair! You didn't give me a big hug and kiss welcoming or honoring me as your guest..but,I haven't been able to get this lady to stop kissing my feet! You didn't anoint my head with oil, but she has spared a whole flask of perfumed oil for my feet! Because, those who are forgiven of a whole LOT, love a lot more. But, those who are only forgiven for a little bit, don't love as much."


   Then he turned to the woman, who was probably at this point feeling a lot more confident in her decision to come to where Jesus was, and said, "All of your sins- you can forget them. I forgive you. Today, your FAITH SAVED YOU. Now you can go home in peace."


   If you took the time to read this, I hope it encouraged you to take a step of faith. God is not too far from you. Everyones feet stink at some point. He is not unreachable and you no longer have to track Him down in the middle east at at Pharisees house to get Him to forgive your sins. Whether you owe $500,000,000 worth of debt (sin) or $5.00 , there isn't anything He hasn't seen. If you have questions go ask your pastor and if you don't have one go ask a local church leader, but if you need prayer email me or leave a comment and I'd be happy to do so. You have so much more to see, do, and impact so Keep on Keepin' on.


rad@devout.com

Wednesday, September 15, 2010

.:5 TiPS&TRiCKS:. FOR.a.TACKY-FREE LiFE!

   Benvenuti nel mio blog!

After recently scoping out a picture of myself, I just happened to notice one tiny thing that majorly affected my swag...CHIPPED NAIL POLISH!! This is a serious issue that 7 out of every 10 girls suffers from (thanks to statistics from Audrey Hamilton Surveys Inc.)
Anyways, I thought while I was at it, I would pick several other "no-no's" and give some PRACTICAL and AFFORDABLE ways to keep up with your grooming! After having worked in a high end salon, I actually do have some really good, behind the scenes, no pushy salesman tips & tricks!

1A. TACKY: Chipped Nail polish
                - There is nothing worse then having a great outfit, feeling confident, getting to work and realizing when you go to show a customer  something  you realize your nail polish is chipped. Major bummer.

1B. TACTFUL: There are three things you need to know when grooming those beautiful appendages of Keratin (yes, the same protein your hair is made up of!)
                 a. PRIME- Wipe off the excess oils with nail polish remover, which helps the polish to stick to your nail. Then apply a base coat...YES, THERE IS A DIFFERENCE between base and top coats. Base coats normally are calcium based which help the nail grow, they dry quicker, and they're matte when they dry. Top coats dry shiny and smooth.
                 b. PAINT- Apply two THIN and even coats of color to avoid a bubbling or messy look.
                 c. POLISH- After letting your color sit for a minute or so, apply a layer of top coat to protect the color from fading or chipping. To make your polish last even longer, apply a top coat every day! (should last 4-7 days)

              If there is something I do like to splurge on, it's nail polish! ZOYA is a brand that is still one of my favorites. I've had several bottles since last August that have not gotten clumpy, dry, or sticky. Formaldehyde FREE it's vegan friendly and they have a variety of colors for all seasons! (About $7.00/bottle)

Nail Polish-Emme Lg Nail Polish-Perrie LgNail Polish-Dana Lg

                                               http://www.zoya.com


2A. TACKY: Dry Skin. Really, it's kind of gross when you go to wipe that outside corner of your nose and pull off a few dead skin flakes. The only flakes you should have should be in your cereal, and Tony the Tiger will take care of that for you.


2B. TACTFUL: Exfoliating. Your skin naturally goes through layers, but sloughing ,or exfoliating, off old skin cells will improve your complexion as well as keep your skin feeling rejuvenated! While this Lancome facial scrub can cost you almost $30.00 a bottle, St. Ives sells an invigorating facial scrub for only $6.00. I've always used the St. Ives scrub on my face, and body as it is sensitive enough for my skin, but also works and smells great! Please make note that every one's skin is different and some may react differently to these products than I do.







      Pure Focus Exfoliator- $24.50                      Apricot Scrub- $5.79


3A. TACKY: Makeup lines. I always feel for the girl that has a noticeable makeup line, who probably had to do it on the go or in bad lighting, or maybe just doesn't know what shade she is. Or maybe her lip gloss is running and she can't figure out how to make it stick. Or she has smudgy eyeliner, that looks like it's running as fast as possible away from her eyes. Or maybe she didn't blend her blush very well and it looks like she may have very well been hit in the face by a lasso....

OK, so maybe that girl was me...but, I have learned!

3B. TACTFUL: Go to the mall and have a professional match up your skin! There are plenty of free makeup consultants, looking to make a sale, that will help you match up your skin tone, color, and complexion just right. Another key factor is making sure you exfoliate and moisturize. It's hard to get makeup smooth over lines, creases, and dead skin. If you don't have good lighting inside, take a small mirror near a window where you can get natural light and check to see if you have any spots you missed or discoloration; you can easily blend it with a makeup sponge or pad.
    If you find that your eyeliner falls, your lipstick keeps smearing, and your eyeshadow gets oily in the creases, try putting a dry concealer on your lips and eyes and let it dry. Then apply...it will stick to the concealer almost like a primer. It saves you from buying lip, eye, and other primers. My favorite concealer is Clinique All About Eyes Concealer. (About $15.00)
    
4A. TACKY: Fake-Baking. We all know that orangy, leather-looking, glow didn't come from our sun! Especially after seeing how damaging tanning beds are to our skin, you would think people would take it easy. Well, just take a look at the ladies from Jersey!

4B. TACTFUL: There are much healthier (and better looking) ways to get a natural looking glows. You may not care, but when all that tanning catches up to you in the form of sun spots and wrinkles and you end up looking like an old umpa-lumpa, you WILL CARE! Now, I know what most people's immediate reaction is to "spray" or "lotion" tans, but I will tell you that there are some amazing products that PROFESSIONALS use that are safer and can save you money!        
    St. Tropez makes an amazing product...At only $35.00 a bottle (about the cost of 2 tanning visits), this product will last you at least 2 months, when you would be spending an average of $120--and that's only going once a week!



5A. TACKY: Dry, frizzy, frazzled hair. I know your highlights are important to you, but when your hair starts to look like Sesame Street's favorite Snuffaluffagus, we've got a problem.

5B. TACTFUL: There are several Keratin treatments that enrich, strengthen, and help grow your hair. While expensive, you can also buy inexpensive take home hair treatments. Also, if you notice your hair is falling out, and you go to make that next color appointment-STOP! It's not worth it.
    Brazilian Blowouts, while a bit pricey, don't compare in price to your $100+ in color. They actually improve the health of your hair and contain no harsh chemicals or formaldehyde. The results last up to 12 weeks, and you can wash and and do your hair immediately. Take a break from the straightener and try round-brush drying your hair on a MEDIUM heat with heat protective products. Acai products work great to help shine and style.


♥ Enjoy! ♥

Tuesday, September 14, 2010

1-800-DRLUV

                          
How many married people we got out there?! Holler!! I know, I know I'm barely married (3 months as of the 12th-woohoo!) But, as my dad once quoted "Love is blind, but marriage is an eye-opener..." Oh, how that truth rings loudly in my ears!
   Of course people tell you before you are married how that marriage isn't all good sex and lovey-dovey presents with ooey-gooey kisses and sweet-loving music everywhere you go...BUT, that somehow always creeps back into your imagination :) With permission from my husband (thanks babe!) I thought I'd tell one of my more recent tales that may help another young married woman as I...ahemm....
    There once was a tale of a flawless bride...haha joking. But, seriously folks- Last week had been a rather |SLIM| week money wise as it was the "bill time of the month", so this week I thought I'd do something special to celebrate our '3-month- anniversary'.

**I had it all planned out in my head (don't act like you don't do this):

- Frank Sinatra will be singing in the background with beautiful candles lit everywhere...
- After spending an hour or so on make-up, hair, and perfecting every last detail, he will be shocked at my sheer beauty and won't be able to keep his hands off of me...
- He'll come in, sweep me off of my feet, and tell me how much he had missed me...
- I'll have prepared a wondrous meal for him that he will praise me for and devour every last crumb...
- We'll spend a romantic evening dancing in our living room and telling each other how special what we have is...

(( ahhhh :) warm fuzzy feeling))

**What REALLY Happens:

- I'm running around frantically trying to throw something edible together.
- He comes home smelling like...well, like he worked all day.
- Gives me a quick kiss and tells me he already ate
- Puzzled he asks me "Why are you wearing those uncomfortable shoes in the house?"
- He asks if he can turn the lights on because it's too dark with only the candles....
- Tells his friend to come down because he already invited him for dinner...
- Changes the CD from 'Frank Sinatra' to the Beatles and talks about "all the good licks in the song"
- Gives me a pat on the butt and tells me I'm hot, he loves me, & thanks for dinner.

    Now, in my mind I'm thinking...I just watched this beautiful movie in my head of what was going to happen and it didn't. Did I set myself up to be disappointed?? Or was I not looking at the fact that HE DIDN'T see what I saw in my head...and he thought the night was great!
   I'm learning that the more I dream up my idea of "romance", the more I find that 9 out of 10 times it doesn't happen like that. Life is not 'The Phantom of the Opera", unfortunately (which by the way is an amazing Broadway).
   I could have applied VivaGlam Cyndi Lipglass at $20 a pop, or spritzed myself in Burberry, or updated my do with a touch of golden highlights...and you know what? He always is befuddled at why I would change something when it smelled or looked just fine? I once got some light highlights and he asked, "Is that your summer hair? It looked fine before." To him it's like the old saying, 'If it ain't broke; don't fix it."
   You know what is romantic to him? When I cook a good meal and listen to his music with him and tell him what I think, or like and don't like. He likes when I paint and am creative in my spare time. He likes for me to just "be there" in the room when he's watching a movie or making a beat. And you know what I get in return?? Without asking?? His attention...his words...good conversation! What else could I ask for...
   So, in all of that I hope you get out of this that a gift isn't always what you want to give, but what does the other person want to get?

  Ciao, until next time!
 

Friday, September 10, 2010

FRE§H|FOR|LES§

    Ok, so I'm no "Save-the-day-coupon-mom" or anything (not yet anyways) but, as a young woman in a furiously growing-fashion conscious-frenzy of a world, I do need a good deal ;) You may agree, disagree, hate or love what I say, but regardless these things have helped me- and I'm no "Shabby-Sally" either!

   I ALWAYS sign up to receive retailers emails. I know you don't want to "fill up your inbox with junk", but lets be honest, your inbox is probably already full of junk so don't sweat it. If you're really concerned get a free email just for promotions. If you just refuse, go online and "Google" coupons or specials for the places you KNOW you need to get things; people post links for deals ALL THE TIME! Anyways, most places I shop send promotions and special offer coupons right to your email just for signing up. Here are some examples of some free stuff and/or discounts I recieved recently:

         1. Victorias Secret coupon for a FREE BEAUTY RUSH LIPGLOSS with ANY purchase of $10.00( a $7.00 value!!)
         2.  VS PINK coupon for a free 2.5 oz. PINK body lotion with any pink purchase-not clearance (a $6.00 value)
         3.  VS coupon for a FREE PAIR OF UNDIES (cute too!) and $10.00 off any bra purchase.
         4.  Best Buy coupon for 10% off any single regular priced item (great for my husband!!)
         5. Macy's coupon for an EXTRA 15% off CLEARANCE items--yesss :)
         6. American Eagle coupon for 15% off my entire purchase!
         7. Bath & Body coupon for any FREE signature collection item with any $10.00 purchase (a $12.00 value!!)
         8. Rue21 coupon for $10.00 off my next $30.00 purchase (a $10.00 value in case you didn't get it haha)
         9. Rue21 coupon for 20% off my next purchase just for signing up!

So, that's $45.00 (and then some) I'll save just by doing one simple little thing.

      Now my favorite part!!! Here are some fall must-haves I'm excited about :) I've taken the original higher-priced item and found a comparable less expensive one....

FOR REAL:
1a. All Saints Owain Jacket- $690.00


http://www.us.allsaints.com/women/leathers/owain-jacket/black/wlh052-5

FOR REAL LIFE:
1b. Target Crinkled Moto Jacket with Studs- $39.99



http://www.target.com/Xhilaration-Crinkled-Moto-Jacket-Studs/dp/B003RYWK7M


FOR REAL:
2a. Dolce Vita Brent Lace Up Boots- $229.00






FOR REAL LIFE:
2b. DOLCE VITA for Target Buckle Ankle Boots (they also have lace-ups)- $34.99





FOR REAL:
3a. Premium Sequin Drape Skirt Topshop in Bronze- $170.00


http://us.topshop.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?beginIndex=0&viewAllFlag=&catalogId=33060&storeId=13052&productId=1724525&langId=-1&categoryId=&searchTerm=sequin


FOR REAL LIFE:

3b. Express Sequin Mini- $39.90 (buy 1 get one 50% off!)


FOR REAL:
4a . Preen Line Coco Sweater- $569.00

                                 

FOR REAL LIFE:
4b.  GAP Fisherman Sweater- $29.50



http://www.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=25781&vid=1&pid=784579&scid=784579002


FOR REAL:
5a. Elizabeth and James Ruched Boyfriend Blazer- $395.00





FOR REAL LIFE:
5b. Urban Renewal Vintage Boys Blazer- $48.00




http://www.urbanoutfitters.com/urban/catalog/productdetail.jsp?itemdescription=true&itemCount=80&startValue=1&selectedProductColor=&sortby=&id=18477638&parentid=W_APP_VESTS&sortProperties=+subCategoryPosition,+product.marketingPriority&navCount=21&navAction=poppushpush&color=&pushId=W_APP_VESTS&popId=W_OUTERWEAR&prepushId=&selectedProductSize=


FOR REAL:
Joie Laced Crop Top-$289.52
                                           

FOR REAL LIFE:
Mech and Lace Victoriana Top-  £28.00





ALSO, Leopard prints are in...but, I'm NOT their biggest fan, so I won't be posting that :)

HAPPY FALL SHOPPING!! :)

Tuesday, September 7, 2010

::THE|SILENCER::

Do you ever feel that you're being silenced?
      That "Freedom of Speech" has less freedom involved than you thought?

   The first time I was really challenged on "Freedom of Speech" was in my Junior year of high school. It was 7th period Chemistry and my teacher wanted to open up an "unbiased" discussion leading to Creation vs. evolution. He said while he couldn't "openly state his opinion" it was most certainly made clear where he stood! I proceeded to chime in stating the reasons I believed in creationism and was almost instantaneously shut down. In an explosive 35 second rant, he told me to "get out of his classroom" and that I was a "waste of the parents' tax dollars"... No joke.
   After discussing the uncalled-for event with my parents, they called the school in a fury. My teacher was told to "apologize to me"...even though his apology sounded more like "I'm sorry you took what I said the wrong way..." hmm..sounds familiar.
I just couldn't comprehend; while all of my classmates who were of other races or had other sexual preferences were told to EXPRESS THEMSELVES and were given platforms to do so, I was being constrained to a perimeter of freedom so small I could barely stand in it.
   I first took offense to the scenario and even started feeling guilty for speaking out. That sort of rule which strikes fear in the heart of it's people sounds more like Tyranny to me than the so-called "Republic" we live in. 
tyranny (ˈtɪrənɪ)
— n , pl -nies
1. a. government by a tyrant or tyrants; despotism
b. similarly oppressive and unjust government by more than one person

   Even in writing this my programmed reaction was "well, I have to be careful with what I say here...don't want to anger anyone!" Yes, being cautious to not be haughty, proud, or rude I believe is necessary, but everyone is offended by something; so, it's nearly impossible to not offend someone with what you will say.
   Later, my junior year, with the help of my Christian friends, we looked to start a group for young girls who were looking to grow in their faith with us. We put together a proposition and took it to the school board. They said they would get back to us....time went on...nothing. We went to them again and they said there was no "good constructive purpose" and they couldn't see how this would be beneficial. Two weeks later they brought in an after school program called the Gay Straight Alliance or GSA.  Here is there goal:
   "The goal of most, if not all, gay–straight alliances is to make their school community safe and welcoming to all students regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity. They participate in national campaigns to raise awareness, such as the Day of Silence, National Coming Out Day, No Name Calling Week, or locally organized Campaigns..."
   Please, tell me then if being a Christian makes even teachers call me names, makes me not even feel safe at my own school, and I am discriminated against by students and teachers alike, then what is the difference? Why are there no Christian school groups for me to attend? Why am I so quickly silenced at the mention of God? And the few remnants of songs and phrases that are left of a "Nation Under God", my own president doesn't even honor?

   So, here is my public allegiance to something bigger.
I will not sit down, back down, or shut up...
   I will not give up my ability to think and act on my own behalf as God created me...
I will honor those in authority, but I will not surrender my beliefs to them. I will not bow down to their gods of money, power, and fame.
   I will encourage free speech and our constitutional rights to my fellow men in a peaceful manner.
I will pray for our nation, this people, and those who are giving up their lives to ensure that I will continue to have these rights...

Thursday, September 2, 2010

.:IF you thought ||YOU|| could c.h.a.n.g.e. the WORLD:.




If you thought you could change the world

Would you have flicked your neighbor off?

When he didn’t see you in the street,

As you turn your head and scoff…



If you thought you could change the world

Would you have yelled at your mother?

As she spent her last days alone,

Hurt with no husband, friends, or others…



If you thought you could change the world

Would you have thrown a penny to the poor?

Or taken them to get real food,

And shown them hope and more…



If you thought you could change the world

Would you have yelled at your cashier?

Who’d been abused by her dad,

And worked slowly out of fear…



If you thought you could change the world

Would you wish your president Ill?

Making jokes about his weakness,

Or what he’s not yet fulfilled…



If you thought you could change the world

Would you start to pray?

For a nation going under,

And a people gone astray...



Well, Just know you’re changing the world,

Each and every day,

Whether it’s good, bad, or ugly

It changes with what you say.